An interview with Heather Hildenbrand

I recently read a book that had me gripping my Kindle, flipping pages like crazy to see what would happen. And then by the grace of the book gods, book two was also out!! So I devoured that and loved every single page. And then, because life hates me, book three isn’t out yet. But it’s coming out in October so then all will be right with the world.

Until then, I reached out to Heather and she was awesome enough to grant me this interview. So check it out below and then get to reading Imitation if you haven’t already!

Everyone is exactly like me. There is no one like me.

Ven wrestles with these contradicting truths every day. A clone of wealthy eighteen-year-old Raven Rogen, Ven knows everything about the girl she was created to serve: the clothes she wears, the boys she loves, the friends she loves to hate. Yet she’s never met the Authentic Raven face-to-face. Imitations like Ven only get to leave the lab when they’re needed—to replace a dead Authentic, donate an organ, or complete a specific mission. And Raven has never needed Ven . . . until now.

When there is an attack on Raven’s life, Ven is thrust into the real world, posing as Raven to draw out the people who tried to harm her. But as Ven dives deeper into Raven’s world, she begins to question everything she was ever told. She exists for Raven, but is she prepared to sacrifice herself for a girl she’s never met?

Fans of Cinder, The Selection and Sara Shepard’s Lying Game series will love Imitation, a thrilling, action-packed novel sure to keep readers guessing until the very last page.
Find Imitation online: Amazon | Goodreads

On to the interview! 

What kind of books did you read as a kid?
Hmm how far back are we going here? Let’s see … One of my favorites was the Sweet Valley High series by Francine Pascal. That was probably more of a pre-teen favorite. Before that, when I was young, I remember reading Harold and the Purple Crayon, Where the Wild Things Are, and Goodnight Moon a lot.

I’ve read that your love of motorcycles influenced Ven’s riding in the book. What’s your favorite road/location to go cruising on a motorcycle?
Yes! I had my first motorcycle ride while I was writing/plotting Imitation and after one ride I was hooked! Not only that it was so full of all these sensations. Ever the writer, I came home and recorded it in my journal. And a lot of those first impressions made it into the book as Ven’s first impressions!
My favorite road to ride is a winding back road in Virginia Beach–near the NC line. It’s curvy and scenic and so much fun!

Linc is totally my new book boyfriend. If you had to pick a celebrity that best resembles him, who would it be?
Matt Lanter!!!!
In fact, consider me the campaign manager for #MattLanterforLinc

Which character in the series is most like you?
I’d say I’m a mixture of Ven and Lonnie and Ida. I think we all are–shy, tough, strong, protective, bossy, and unsure of our purpose for the beginning of our lives (hopefully only the beginning). And that’s really what these 3 are in a nutshell.

How did you come up with the name “Twig city”?
I was researching clone development and found that a twig/branch without leaves is the symbol for clones in science. It’s why I made it the symbol or logo for RogenCorp, sort of like the truth hiding in plain sight.

What are you working on now?
A couple of projects, actually. Generation, the 3rd/last book in the Imitation series will be out in October so I’m working on revisions on that. And in between, I have a 3-part novella series that will be out starting in September. That one is YA paranormal. Werewolves vs. vampires 🙂 You should check it out!

What is your favorite part of the writing process?
Hmm. Finishing! That feeling you get when you write The End is the most accomplished feeling ever! To know I created something new in its entirety and deemed it Done is an awesome moment!

What is your least favorite part of the writing process?
Page 1, parag 1 is the HARDEST. No matter how detailed my plot/outline, getting started always stumps me.

What’s the best book you’ve read this year?
Hmm. Every Day by David Levithan was stellar but I think I’d have to say the Never Say Never novella series Colleen Hoover is doing with Tarryn Fisher. EPIC with a capital E! You must read that one!


Find more about Heather here:

Heather Hildenbrand was born and raised in a small town in northern Virginia where she was homeschooled through high school. Since 2011, she’s published more than eight YA & NA novels including the bestselling Dirty Blood series. She splits her time between coastal Virginia and the island of Guam and loves having a mobile career and outrageous lifestyle of living in two places.

Heather is also a publishing and success coach bent on equipping and educating artists who call themselves authors. She loves teaching fellow writers how to create the same freedom-based lifestyle she enjoys. For more information visit www.fictionauthorcoach.com and find out how to create your own OutRAGEous Life.

Find her online: http://heatherhildenbrand.blogspot.com/
Twitter: @HeatherHildenbr

One thought on “An interview with Heather Hildenbrand

Comments are closed.